European Sleep Research Society

Conference chairman: Marielle Zoetmulder, President of the Danish Society for Sleep Medicine


09.00-10.30 Sleep and metabolism

Vladyslav V. Vyazovskiy: Waking behaviour, cortical states and sleep homeostasis

Christelle Peyron: REM sleep homeostatic regulation in wild-type and narcoleptic mice

Philippe Peigneux: New insights of sleep deprivation on cognitive function


10.30-11.00 coffee break

11.00-12.30 Circadian rhythm

Jan Fahrenkrug: Photic regulation of the circadian system

Kristian Rohde: Circadian system development and plasticity

Anders Hay-Schmidt: The role of neuroglobin in sleep


12.30-13.30 Lunch

13.30-15.00 Sleep and neurodegenerative disorders

Maiken Nedergaard: “The Nightlife of the Brain”

Elena Urrestarazu Bolumburu: Clinical management of sleep disturbances in Alzheimer’s disease: current and emerging strategies

Poul Jennum: REM sleep behavior disorder as a preclinical marker for Parkinson’s disease - An update.


15.00-15.30 coffee break  

15.30-17.00 Hypersomnias, from molecule to clinical implications

Birgitte R. Kornum: Narcolepsy – an atypical autoimmune disease

Giuseppe Plazzi: Neurological and Psychiatric Comorbidities in Narcolepsy Type 1

Stine Knudsen: Clinical implications of narcolepsy.

Registration link here

The Meeting Planners at or call +45 60 21 74 21

Delegate fee: 750 DKK or 100 euro.

Members of DSSM: 200 DKK or 27 euro.

Accommodation: Crowne Plaza 30th of June: 1.700 DKK pr. night incl. breakfast. Please book in registration form.